Editing: Chris Baveas / Areopagite


Areios Pagos today consists of the President and the Attorney General, Vice-Presidents, Areopagites and Deputy Attorney Generals.
The members of the Supreme Court enjoy functional and personal independence, as all members of the judicial power and are for life, but they are required by law to retire at the age of 67 (article 87 paragraph 1 and article 88 paragraphs 1 and 5 of the Constitution).

Previously Areios Pagos was located in "ILIOU MELATHRON" (the house of Ilion, translated as the house of Troy), which originally was the residence of the famous German archeologist Heinrich Schliemann (who successfully conducted excavations for the discovery of Homer's Troy), constructed by the German Architect Hernest Ziller.




Areios Pagos is divided in six civil law chambers, where cases of private parties about matters of private law are introduced (contractual, commercial, hereditary, real property rights, labor law etc.) two penal law chambers and the plenary session.


Areios Pagos does not review the facts of the case on the merits that it has no third degree of jurisdiction. Only the legal correctness of decisions issued by the Hellenic courts of first and second instance is examined, on appeal to the Supreme Court.


Through its decisions, Areios Pagos ensures the uniform interpretation and application of law which consequently results in the equal judicial treatment of similar cases by its lower courts.



On the courthouse facade, there is a sculptured sign stating "THEMIDOS MELATHRON", interpreted as "House of Themis". According to Greek mythology, Themis was daughter of God Ouranos (god of sky) and married to God Zeus and she was believed to incarnate the divine justice and order protecting the oppressed. Her distinctive symbols were the scale, the sword, and the sceptre at hand. The current building of the court was inaugurated on February 23rd 1981.